Monaco Grand Prix 2012

What: 70th Monaco Grand Prix 2012
Where: Monaco
When: Thursday 24 May to Sunday 27 May 2012
Tickets and contacts: +377 93 15 26 24
(see Ticketing below for pricing details)


Mark Webber brings home hat-trick for Red Bull in Monaco, and becomes the sixth different winner in this season’s F1 Grand Prix calendar. Nico Rosberg, winner in China, is second.


1 Mark Webber 1’14.381 Red Bull
2. Nico Rosberg 1’14.448 Mercedes
3. Lewis Hamilton 1’14.583 McLaren
4. Romain Grosjean 1’14.639 Lotus
5. Fernando Alonso 1’14.948 Ferrari
6. Michael Schumacher 1’14.301 Mercedes
7. Felipe Massa 1’15.049 Ferrari
8. Kimi Raikkonen 1’15.199 Lotus
9. Sebastian Vettel No time Red Bull
10. Nico Hulkenberg 1’15.421 Force India
11. Kamui Kobayashi 1’15.508 Sauber
12. Jenson Button 1’15.536 McLaren
13. Bruno Senna 1’15.709 Williams
14. Paul di Resta 1’15.718 Force India
15. Daniel Ricciardo 1’15.878 Toro Rosso
16. Jean-Eric Vergne 1’16.885 Toro Rosso
17. Heikki Kovalainen 1’16.538 Caterham
18. Vitaly Petrov 1’17.404 Caterham
19. Pastor Maldonado 1’15.245 Williams
20. Timo Glock 1’17.947 Marussia
21. Pedro de la Rosa 1’18.096 HRT
22. Charles Pic 1’18.476 Marussia
23. Narain Karthikeyan 1’19.31 HRT
24. Sergio Perez No time Sauber

The Monaco Grand Prix is one of the oldest and most prestigious car races in the world, and the only one to have been held on the same circuit since it began in 1929 under the auspices of the Automobile Club de Monaco, who still preside over the organization of the race today. You can read more of the fascinating early history of the race here.

Of all Formula One events, the Monaco Grand Prix is acknowledged to provide the greatest thrills, not least because its course takes it literally around the town on roads normally bustling with tourist traffic.

Compared with those races run on dedicated racetracks, there’s a slight compromise in speed and overtaking, since the circuit is so perilously narrow – but the proximity of real life to the supercharged world of F1 is simply too inviting. For newcomers and veteran spectators alike, watching Monaco can be the closest thing to actually participating as a driver.

This year, Monaco forms the sixth leg of the year-long Formula 1 season, two weeks after the Spanish Grand Prix at Montmelo and a fortnight before the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal. And already the season is shaping up to be one of the most fascinating and unpredictable in years.

From a technical point of view, changes in the rules and regulations have led to further controversial developments in the shape and design of the cars; and from a sporting perspective, there have already been a number of upsets in the rank order.

The programme below also contains side events such as the GP2 series, which acts not only as a curtain raiser to the main event but also showcases emerging talent, with many of its drivers using the series as a stepping stone to full scale Formula 1 after a year or two. For visitors to Monaco this year, there has been the added attraction of the biennial Grand Prix Historique.

Please click below to find out more about ticket availability:


Thu 24 May

7.00am: Race track closed
8.30am to 9.15am: Formula Renault 3.5 Series practice session
10.00am to 11.30am: Formula 1 First practice session
12noon to 12.30pm: GP2 practice session
2.00pm to 3.30pm: Formula 1 Second practice session
4.00pm to 4.30pm: GP2 Qualifying sessions
4.55pm to 5.25pm: Porsche Supercup practice session
7.00pm: Race track reopens

Fri 25 May

7.00am: Race track closed
9.45am to 10.15am: Porsche Supercup Qualifying sessions
10.50am to 11.55am: GP2 First Race
2.00pm: Race track reopens

Sat 26 May

6.00am: Race track closed
9.00am to 9.25am: Formula Renault 3.5 Series Stage A – Qualifying sessions
9.30am to 9.55am: Formula Renault 3.5 Series Stage B – Qualifying sessions
11.00am to 12 noon: Formula 1 Third practice session
2.00pm to 3.00pm: Formula 1 Qualifying sessions
4.00pm to 4.50pm: GP2 Second Race
7.00pm: Race track reopens

Sun 27 May

7.00am: Race track closed
9.45am to 10.15am: Porsche Supercup
11.10am to 12 noon: Formula Renault 3.5 Series
12.30pm: Formula 1 Drivers’ Parade
7.00pm: Race track reopens