Monte Carlo Rolex Tennis Masters 2011

What Monte-Carlo Rolex Tennis Masters
Where Monte Carlo Country Club
When April 9-17, 2011
Contact Tel: +377 97 98 70 00; Fax : +377 97 98 70 01/10
Web: http://www.monte-carlorolexmasters.comRafael Nadal 6-4 7-5 David Ferrer

Rafael Nadal‘s supreme reign over the Monte Carlo Tennis Masters was cemented yesterday when he beat fellow Spaniard David Ferrer in two sets, 6-4, 7-5. It was a moment to savour for the World number one as he put out the man who cost him a place in the semi-finals at the Australian Open in  Melbourne this January. It was also Nadal’s seventh successive victory at the Rolex-sponsored competition, which takes place annually at the Monte Carlo Country Club.

To start the clay season like this is fantastic, but it’s more fantastic to win Monte Carlo another time”, said the champion. Success at Monte Carlo has become almost routine for the player, who dropped only one set (against Andy Murray in Saturday’s semi-final) to win the title. At only 24, and once more at the top of his game, it’s unlikely he’ll be relinquishing this one in the near future.

Preview of the week

The 2011 Monte Carlo Rolex Tennis Masters is shaping up to be a fascinating tournament. Shortly after the world’s top four players confirmed their appearance, Novak Djokovic, the world number two (and Monte Carlo resident) pulled out owing to injury. “It is a very sad moment not only for this tournament and my fans, but also for myself” said the Serb, who has just returned from a well-deserved triumph over Nadal in Miami.

Particularly so since the Monte Carlo lineup is deeper and stronger than for some years, with a raft of the world’s top players descending on the principality to try to knock off Nadal’s crown – or at least unsettle it. Among this week’s confirmations: Roger Federer (currently World number 3), Andy Murray (No 4) and Tomas Berdych (No 7).

In recent years, the Monte Carlo Masters competition (which is actually held just across the border in Roquebrune, France) has become synonymous with Nadal. Yet again, the presence of the World Number One on court will be an enormous draw, but there is a special reason for coming along this year. When he won in Monaco in 2010, Nadal became the only tennis player ever to have achieved six successive wins in the same tournament anywhere in the world, and this year he will be looking to cement that record with a seventh victory.

In 2009 the title was taken in an easy final set against Djokovic. But this was almost a formality for the man who put out the then World No 1 Roger Federer four times in succession in the same competition between 2006 and 2008.

In 2010, anticipating the treatment he would mete out to his compatriot in the US Open later that year, Nadal concluded matters with a straight sets win over fellow Spaniard Fernando Verdasco – but not without a fight on this particular point:

Some interesting facts
2009 spectators: a record 124 000
10 000 places on Central Court
Total Prize Money for the players in 2010: 2.2 million euros

Results 2010

Singles – 18 April [2] R Nadal (Spain) beat [6] F Verdasco (Spain) 6-0 6-1

Doubles – Final [1] D Nestor (Canada) / N Zimonjic (Serbia) beat [5] M Bhupathi (India) / M Mirnyi (Belarus) 6-3 2-0 ret. (Bhupathi – left leg)

Surface: Claycourt
Prize money: €2,200,000
Format: Best of 3 sets


Saturday 9 April
11am  QUALIFIERS 1st Round (Singles)

Sunday 10 April
11am  QUALIFIERS 2nd Round (Singles)
11am  FIRST ROUND (Singles)

Monday 11 April
10.30am     FIRST ROUND (Singles, Doubles)

Tuesday 12 April
10.30am     FIRST ROUND (Singles, Doubles)

Wednesday 13 April
10.30am     SECOND ROUND (Singles, Doubles)

Thursday 14 April
10.30am     EIGHTH-FINALS (Singles, Doubles)

Friday 15 April
10.30am     QUARTER-FINALS (Singles, Doubles)

Saturday 16 April
11.30am     SEMI-FINALS (Singles, Doubles)

Sunday 17 April
2.15pm      Presentation of the finalists
2.30pm      SINGLES FINAL (best of 3 sets); DOUBLES FINAL (best of 3 sets)

Dates and times are non-binding and may be modified

Book here for tickets for individual tournament days